Valentine's Day Gifts According to the 5 Love Languages


Gary Chapman, Ph.D., introduced the concept of The 5 Love Languages in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts. The basic idea is that there are five ways in which we all express and receive love- words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. However, he believes that not everyone gives and receives love in the same way. We may relate to most of these, but each one of us has one that speaks to us more than the others. Sunny Motamedi, Psy.D., mentions, "Discovering you and your partner's primary love language and speaking that language regularly may [create] a better understanding of each other's needs and support each other's growth."

Do you know your love language? How about your partners? I first took the five love languages quiz back in 2017, and it fundamentally changed how I looked at love and how to best express it to those in my life. So take the love languages quiz here and cater your Valentine's Day gift with our gift guide below.

1.) Physical Touch

People with the love language of physical touch feel most loved when receiving a hug, snuggle, or physical intimacy. The Hug Pack or individual hug cards are perfect for your physical touch-fueled valentine. Pair it with something cozy or sexy to encourage touch. 

A blue greeting card that says "Hug" in yellow handwritten font with two pink arms wrapped around it sits on an envelope.

2.) Quality Time

People who feel loved by spending quality time with others crave presence and connection. They want to spend as much time as possible with you and hope for a distraction-free zone with eye contact and meaningful conversations. The "You are not alone" card is perfect for these valentines. Pair it with a dinner night where you cook the meal together and have a deep conversation or game night afterward.

3.) Words of Affirmation 

I am a words of affirmation gal. People with this love language seek verbal acknowledgments such as compliments, encouragement, and "I love you's". The "You are easy to love" card is perfect for your words of affirmation valentine. Bonus points for filling both sides of the card with all the things you love the most about them! 

4.) Acts of Service

People who feel most loved by acts of service crave a partner who goes out of their way to make their life easier. Have you heard the phrase "actions speak louder than words"? If so, your partner may be an acts of service valentine. So love them with the "Here for you" card. Bonus points for changing their oil, fixing the thing they have been nagging you about, or cleaning the whole house, so they wake up to a clean slate.

 5.) Gifts

The gifts love language is just how it sounds. People with this love language feel loved through gifts or "visual symbols of love." It is not necessarily about the *amount* spent on the present but rather the act of giving in the first place. Any of our cards in the Love Pack would be perfect for the gift lover. Pair it with an item that has been hiding away in their amazon wish list or something you have heard them talking about recently to show them that you *get them*.

Support our small business this Valentine's Day by taking advantage of the 30% off sale applied automatically at checkout. We are also offering free shipping on orders over $75!

With Love,

Back to blog